OAF News

2010 Winners Announced Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Childrenís Book Awards

Brampton, ON, May 26, 2010 Students at Brampton's Huttonville Public School today announced the winners of the Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children's Book Awards:





Proud as a Peacock, Brave as a Lion by Jane Barclay (Pointe-Claire, QC)

Illustrations by Renné Benoit (St.Thomas, ON)

Published by Tundra Books




Vanishing Girl: The Boy Sherlock Holmes, His Third Case by Shane Peacock (Baltimore, ON)

Published by Tundra Books





ïJane Barclay, Renné Benoit and Shane Peacock are all first time winners of the Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children's Book Awards.

ïThe awards, of $6,000 each, recognize artistic excellence in writing and illustration in Canadian children's literature. Barclay and Benoit share the children's picture book award and will each receive $3,000.

ïThe winners were selected by two juries of young readers at Huttonville Public School. Students in grades 3 and 4 chose the winning author and illustrator of the children's picture book award. The recipient of the young adult/middle reader award was chosen by students in grades 7 and 8.

ïThe announcement took place at Huttonville Public School in Brampton, at 2322 Embleton Road, at 1 p.m. on May 26, 2010.

ïJane Barclay, Renné Benoit and Shane Peacock were on hand to accept the awards from students at Huttonville Public School.




Student jurors' praise for author Jane Barclay's and illustrator Renné Benoit's Proud as a Peacock, Brave as a Lion:


ï ìÖ It taught us about Remembrance Day.î

ï ìI really liked the pictures with the animals behind the characters.î


Student jurors in grades 7 and 8 said the following about Shane Peacock's Vanishing Girl: The Boy Sherlock Holmes, His Third Case:


ïìÖMr. Peacock's use of languageÖreally brought you into the time period.î

ïìÖIt was a like a puzzle that we had to keep reading to solve.î




ïThe Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children's Book Awards were established in 1976 by Sylvia Schwartz in memory of her sister, Ruth Schwartz, a respected Toronto bookseller. In 2004, their family renamed the awards to honour both sisters.


ïThe administration of these awards is shared by the Ontario Arts Foundation, the Ontario Arts Council, which manages the jury process and the Ruth Schwartz Foundation which funds the awards. Candidates are nominated by the Canadian Booksellers Associationand members of the Awards Committee. The Awards Committee also selects the short list for the student juries.

GeneviËve Vallerand, Communications Coordinator, Ontario Arts Council
416-969-7434 / 1-800-387-0058, ext. 7434 | gvallerand@arts.on.ca




Janet Stubbs, Executive Director
416-969-7413 | jstubbs@arts.on.ca

The Ontario Arts Foundation (OAF) offers donors effective and creative opportunities for charitable giving – helping to build a foundation for the arts in Ontario. OAF works with donors to build lasting endowments in support of the arts – a gift for this generation and the next.


The Ontario Arts Council (OAC)is the province of Ontario's primary funding body for professional arts activity. Since 1963, the OAC has played a vital role in promoting and assisting the development of the arts and artists for the enjoyment and benefit of Ontarians.


Ce document existe également en franÁais.

BLOG: Light at the end of the tunnel... Read more »