OAF News

Ontario Arts Foundation Announces Two New Board Members

Toronto – October 18, 2021 – The Ontario Arts Foundation is pleased to announce the addition of three new members to the Board of Directors: Deborah Barrett, and Chris Pitts.

These appointments were made at the AGM, upon the retirement of Kevin Garland and Raj Kothari who had been on the board for 11 and 4 years respectively. Both Ms. Garland and Mr. Kothari made significant contributions in their roles and were valuable counsel to the organization.

The Board is responsible for the oversight of the management of the Foundation’s investment portfolio and provides leadership for carrying out the Foundation’s mission to promote long-term support for the arts in Ontario.

Deborah (Deb) Barrett

Ms. Barrett, a Corporate Director, was the Chief Financial Officer of The Woodbridge Company Limited from 2011 until her retirement in 2017. She has also held senior financial leadership positions and board roles in several public and private companies. Ms. Barrett volunteered on the board of Soulpepper Theatre Company is also a past director of Youth Employment Services (YES). Ms. Barrett obtained her accounting designation in 1980 and became an FCPA, FCA in 2021.  She also holds the ICD.D designation from the Institute of Corporate Directors.

Read More

Chris Pitts

Chris Pitts is a Partner at PwC Canada working in the Asset and Wealth Management practice, and he has worked at the firm for over 30 years. He was previously the National Asset and Wealth Management Practice Leader for Canada and has served numerous industry associations over the last twenty years, including as past treasurer of the Alternative Investment Management Association(AIMA) Canada.

Read More

“It is my pleasure to welcome Deb and Chris to the Board of Directors,” says Anthony Graham, Board Chair. “Each of them brings deep community knowledge, a passion for arts philanthropy and the desire to help the Foundation meet the growing financial needs of the arts in Ontario.”

The Ontario Arts Foundation is represented by a committed volunteer Board of Directors of arts philanthropists, including:

Anthony R. Graham (Chair), John D. McKellar CM QC (Vice-Chair), Timothy R. Price (Treasurer),  Deborah (Deb) Barrett, Rita Davies CM, Catherine (Kiki) Delaney CM, Judith Gelber, Gaelen Morphet, Chris Pitts, Donald M. Ross OC, Kim Shannon, Katherine L. Smalley, Greg Sorbara, David Tsubouchi, John Wilkinson.


For information, please contact:

Bruce Bennett,  Executive Director Ontario Arts Foundation Tel: (416) 969-7413



The Ontario Arts Foundation is passionately committed to building long-term support for the arts in Ontario.  In 2020-2021, the OAF paid $5.1 million in endowment income and $220,000 in awards and scholarships.

 Ce document existe également en français.


BLOG: Light at the end of the tunnel... Read more »